It’s great to belong to a fanbase; watching your favourite celebs’ starring roles and red carpet moments. However, being able to not only meet those celebrities, but also become friends with them is even greater.
Darren Martin has been a fan of 90210 since 1991. He is an avid collector and follower of all things related to 90210, and is also friends with most of the cast; being closest to Ian Ziering and Tori Spelling.
With BH 90210 just recently making a comeback, Darren had the chance to appear in its first episode alongside the original cast.
On set 90210
(From the left) Brian Austin Green, Gabrielle Carteris, Jason Priestley, Darren Martin, Ian Ziering, Jennie Garth and Tori Spelling on set of the first episode of the reboot of 90210. From the archives of Darren Martin
1. How were you first contacted about being in the first episode of the new 90210?
“Ian Ziering texted me telling me producers from the should would be in contact. The cast said they were all playing versions of themselves and that who better to play the ultimate fan than me. Flattering to say the least.”
2. What went through your mind when you first set foot on set? What did you hear and see?
“I arrived the second week of filming and they were doing a scene at a ‘Vegas’ motel which was really a swanky hotel in Vancouver. Tori Spelling and Ian Ziering came right over and hugged me and welcomed me to the cast. It was surreal seeing how the show was filmed and getting to hang out with my childhood heroes.”
3. How did it feel to interact with the cast?
“I’ve been fortunate enough to develop friendships with most of the cast now so it was like hanging out with old friends. They’re all so down to earth and friendly.”
4. Did you ever think you’d be on TV acting alongside the cast of 90210?
“Never in a million years. It’s a dream come true. I was happy that that show was coming back after all these years and to be appearing in an episode and actually saying a line was crazy cool. An experience I’ll never forget.”
5. What was it like standing alongside Jennie Garth and Tori Spelling at the premiere? How did you feel?
“That was beyond cool. Tori is one of the sweetest ladies on the planet. She wanted me there and even talked about me during the Q&A after. She invited me to go with her to her tapings of Watch What Happens Life and Good Morning America. Salt of the earth kind of gal.”
6. How has 90210 changed your life?
“It’s entertained me throughout the decades. It’s like comfort food to me and brings me back to a time and place where life was maybe a little simpler. Fans of the show are the best. It’s a great community to be a part of.”
7. Do you have any future goals or a bucket list in connection with 90210?
“I’ve met almost all of the cast except for Carol Potter and Kathleen Robertson. I guess I’d like to meet them at some point. But everything else from here on out is just gravy.”